4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Thu Feb 25, 2021 8:45 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
OK so lets break in our new 4g section. How many 4g owners out there? As most of you already know I have a 95 sedan with evo 3 replica panels on it and shortly it will have another engine in it. Here is a pic of it the last time it was all together :lol: .

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:05 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Tucson, AZ
WOOT! I'm happy I started that thread talking about adding this section. I know I will be here a lot. I think most people know me/my car as 'the guy from PINKS'. That car was since in an accident (stupid Tucson driver ran a stop sign in front of me). I've stripped it and purchased another 4g coupe. I'm working on the AWD swap now and I'll have pics once I've made significant progress.

The old setup from PINKS was a mildly built motor (1g rods, Wiseco pistons, 272s) running an FP3052 with a chipped ECU, MAF-t, big FMIC, 1,000cc injectors, Wally 255, and 100 octane. I was only running 18psi on the show and ran 12.5's @ 115mph missing the 1-2 shift both times (stupid '90 trans). Judging my the trap speed, 11's were for sure possible at 20psi.

The new setup: Eagle rods, Wiseco 9.0 to 1, FP3575, AEM EMS, E85, 1680cc injectors, A/T trans with shift kit, high stall converter and chipped TCU for full line pressure shifts, BC 280's, same FMIC, and a further upgraded fuel system. Hoping to run 30+psi. I'm thinking 10's for sure. Maybe 9's. I know a guy with an A/T 1g DSM on a stock longblock (aside from 272's) running low 10's at 13X with a 60-1 and E85. No NOS. His car weighs about 600-700lbs more than mine too. :supz:

Here's some pics of the car at various stages in its short life with me. I bought it in September '07, did the motor swap and upgrades, and had the accident in May '08. Lame.

http://s293.photobucket.com/albums/mm79 ... %20Mirage/

More pics to come.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
^^^^Can't wait to see the new setup. I'm also waiting on those pics. I would like to see how you made a 1g rear subframe fit a 4g.

Thanks for asking about a 4g section too. It wasn't looking too promising at first but Paul had a change of heart :P . I can't wait until we get a few "how to's" written up for 4g's.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:47 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:15 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Hickory,NC
mine...it an old pic.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:21 am 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 344
Location: orlando, fl
I hope to be one soon. After I sell the colt shell and keep the motor, turbo setup, and dsmlink, I want to pick up a cheap ($500 or less) 4G coupe, no preference on color. We should have a thread on what motor mounts to use for the 4g63 swap!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:12 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
Quote:
I hope to be one soon. After I sell the colt shell and keep the motor, turbo setup, and dsmlink, I want to pick up a cheap ($500 or less) 4G coupe, no preference on color. We should have a thread on what motor mounts to use for the 4g63 swap!
Mark I plan to actually start making these mounts too once I get my engine in my 4g. If you are lucky enough to find an "LS" 5 speed model they come with the F5M22 tranny and alot of people have good luck with them handling the power of the 4G63T engine. If this is the case you simply reuse the 3 existing mounts on the tranny case and just worry about the mount on the timing belt side.

If you try to go with an older 1g dsm turbo tranny then you will have to modify all of the roll stops and mounts as they don't have the mounting bosses on the tranny case for the mounts.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:26 am 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 344
Location: orlando, fl
OK thanks chris, I will look for an LS 5 speed (are they rare?) when I want to buy. But I also have a built AWD transmission from a 1g sitting in my garage. So if I wanted to use that I would have to use your custom mount on the tranny side and your custom front and rear ones, then figure out a timing belt one?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:57 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
Quote:
OK thanks chris, I will look for an LS 5 speed (are they rare?) when I want to buy. But I also have a built AWD transmission from a 1g sitting in my garage. So if I wanted to use that I would have to use your custom mount on the tranny side and your custom front and rear ones, then figure out a timing belt one?
The LS comes with the hydro pedal assembly too, all others are auto or cable clutch and will need to be converted. If you can't locate a LS car just get whatever you can find and you can make a dsm pedal fit, thats what I did on mine. Plus the lower model cars will be lighter with less options.

Are you going to get a VCE and run the awd tranny as a fwd or do you plan to do an awd swap?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:28 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 344
Location: orlando, fl
How much are the VCE's? I havent done a lot of research but i would probably do that (if its easy and cheap to install) until I do convert it over to AWD. Looks like im looking for an LS 5 speed!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
I'm not even sure to be honest. I would check with some of the dsm tranny shops and see what they have available.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:15 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Hickory,NC
i know there's more than three of us here that has 4g's.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 3:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7513
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
Quote:
i know there's more than three of us here that has 4g's.
I know Mr. Hyde has one even though he's not here in the states to work on it. Jason recently picked up a Mirage and already has Evo III front and rear bumpers for it.There are a few more lingering around but I can't remember who they are.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:27 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:15 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Hickory,NC
well i know of thse two already...i guessing that others might have one or is going to get one...

o well...next project getting terry's hatch back up and running. :D he needs to get one too.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:59 pm 
Offline
CSM Junkie

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 447
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
I have a 2 door which i bought for 200 bucks which i am doing nothing with, just in case if i ever get another awd donor, or i could use it for parts to convert a jdm evo 1 to left hand steering. Personally, i would rather have a 4 door evo clone, which is crazy, because the 2 doors are lighter. Bus as you all know 4 doors are rare.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:32 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 344
Location: orlando, fl
DAMN you!! I want a 2 door for cheap!! :cry:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited