4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 5:57 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 2:56 pm 
Restricted Newbie

First, I'm an old school mechanic (30 years) If I throw some gas down the intake, it runs for a couple seconds so I know the spark and timing belt are fine. I pulled the fuel return line off and no fuel pressure apparent.(didn't have tools to undo the pressure line, but I don't hear the fuel pump running)
The owner of the car is a single mom (just had her baby friday night. Car quit on her friday AM) Trying to find out if there is a fuel pump relay or some way I can bypass the ECM to force the fuel pump to run w/o crawling underneath (figures it's the only model where you can't access the fuel pump under the back seat!) It has lots of gas (she filled it the night before it quit)
All she did was roll up to her mailbox, shut it off to use the mailbox key to open the box, then it wouldn't start. Tabs expired last night so I have to tow it to her dad's place (he is TOTALLY unmechanical) I don't want to throw on a $130 fuel pump when that may not be the problem. Don't know about any codes. (I didn't have any tools with me)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:36 pm 
Nobody Important

Ugh, I can't remember the color of the wire (green?) but it is under the hood and is energized when the fuel pump has power. That way you can test if it is even getting power. It is a single connector plug. I believe it was on the firewall up top in the middle... but my car is nowhere near stock anymore so I could be lying. If I can find a picture I will show ya.

I assume you could try pumping power into that and see if it fires up.... but do NOT quote me on that, I have never tried it.

-paul

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:16 pm 
CSM Expert