4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:44 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 12:22 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 12:10 pm
Posts: 45
Location: New Mexico
Im looking to do this soon. Im not interested in getting a link for a how to on a 4g63t swap. Im sure the 4g63 nt is going to be easier. Can I just use a rear ended eclipse gs for this? and how old should the eclipse be. Will I need new sensors and other small things or will the ones I have work?

Please dont tell me to search because all that comes up it the 4g63t swap

I have read other post and all I need to know is if a 4g63 will go into the 1.5 without having to do any mods.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 7:33 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 7:26 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Georgia
Well, if you don't want a turbo (understandable, since as I've found out they're probably more trouble than their worth) you'd probably be better off going with the larger 4g64 from a Galant. you'll have more displacement, higher CR, and a simpler engine overall. Not to mention more power and, more importantly, more torque. But I know that the '64 would not be a direct swap. (unless you get a really old one, than maybe)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 8:56 am 
Using the 4g63t swap as a guideline, replace the wiring harness with a NT harness and get a NT ECU. Everything else is basically the same. You'll have to do some guess work with the sensors to get everything to work, but there's no reason that you can't use the turbo swap how-to as a guideline.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 8:17 am 
Offline
Some call me a god

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 9:28 pm
Posts: 1665
Location: mississauga, Ontario
could you slap a 63T turbo onto a 64?

_________________
92' Dodge Colt 200GT - 4G63T - Taking Offers.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 9:02 am 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
yes it has been done i think they just use a 63t ecu/harness on a 64


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 9:02 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 7:26 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Georgia
Quote:
could you slap a 63T turbo onto a 64?
Do you mean "can you turbocharge a 4g64?" If so, than yes. It's quite easy actually. The turbo manifold and turbocharger bolt right up. the stock engine can handle up to around 10 psi before you have to start changing things around. (lower compression, improve ignition, upgrade fuel, etc) I know about 10 guys that have done it. I havent because I decided to stay N/A for drivability purposes.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited