4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:59 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 10:57 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 7:26 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Georgia
The '64 is great for N/A applications. I know of one guy who's pushing close to 400 hp on his 4g64 using a great deal of nitrous and it works marvelous. (though he has blown two previous engines due to lean conditions when spraying all 150 shot)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:27 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 1792
Location: Perth, Australia
The 6-bolt 4G61, 4G63, 4G67 and 4G64 blocks are all taken from the same casting. The block is then decked to the appropriate length depending on which motor it will become.

All the engines use the same conrods. The cranks come in three flavours: 75mm (4G61), 88mm (4G63/7) and 100mm (4G64).

Since the rod length stays constant the rod:stroke ratios are: 2:1 (4G61), 1.7:1 (4G63/7) and 1.5:1 (4G64). The 1.5:1 ratio of the 4G64 means that a high performance turbo motor will see large amount of sidewall scuffing due the relatively large side-loading applied to the piston.

That's the only downside to the 4G64 since stroke is the only major difference between the motors.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2003 3:50 am 
Offline
4g61t Delinquent
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2002 7:44 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: Hesperia, CA(In the Mojave desert)
Quote:
What years of D50s had the 64?
1991 auto w/OD daily driven by my dad to work and back which was roughly...140 miles engine had 120,000


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2003 3:47 pm 
Quote:

And indeed, the 4g64 can put out 200 hp to the wheels N/A....mine does.
What have you done to get this kind of power?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 3:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 7:26 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Quote:

And indeed, the 4g64 can put out 200 hp to the wheels N/A....mine does.
What have you done to get this kind of power?
Ooh, quote of a qoute...

From one end to the other:

short ram
P&P intake manifold
Stage 1 cam
AEM cam gear
Headers
Full 2.5" exhaust
Random Technology Cat
Magnaflow muffler

I've done some other stuff, but that's the bulk of the "real" mods.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:11 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
I think I know my answer but still want to ask...

just for testing a 4g63 n/t ECU will turbo over a 4g64 engine?

and also where is the TCU located on the T/E/L and I know about the 1.5 manuals but is it possible to mate a 4g15 auto tranny with the 4g64 ir do I need to mish mash parts like torque convertors?

and what is the approximate weight of a 4g64?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:12 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
I think I know my answer but still want to ask...

just for testing a 4g63 n/t ECU will turn over a 4g64 engine?

and also where is the TCU located on the T/E/L and I know about the 1.5 manuals but is it possible to mate a 4g15 auto tranny with the 4g64 ir do I need to mish mash parts like torque convertors?

and what is the approximate weight of a 4g64? long block no tranny...


Last edited by Berserko on Mon Feb 24, 2003 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:18 pm 
yes, it should turbo over a 4g64! Double poster.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 7:26 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Georgia
Quote:
I think I know my answer but still want to ask...

just for testing a 4g63 n/t ECU will turbo over a 4g64 engine?

and also where is the TCU located on the T/E/L and I know about the 1.5 manuals but is it possible to mate a 4g15 auto tranny with the 4g64 ir do I need to mish mash parts like torque convertors?

and what is the approximate weight of a 4g64? long block no tranny...
I don't really understand your first question :-?

The Tranny computer is under the passenger floorboard.

The '64 would mangle the 4g15 transmission in a matter of weeks I wouldn't put them together. The 4g64's own transmission can barely withstand it.

And the 4g64 SOHC weighs about the same as a 4g63t


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 10:24 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
oops i fixed my spelling above... and how much does a 4g63t weigh?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 7:10 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
What would be a better swap 4g63 DOHC or a 4g64 SOHC? I know getting a 4g64 DOHC would be best but the ECUs and Harnesses are not easily found in Canada I'll be buying my motor from one of the local JDM Motor importers.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 7:45 pm 
Quote:
What would be a better swap 4g63 DOHC or a 4g64 SOHC? I know getting a 4g64 DOHC would be best but the ECUs and Harnesses are not easily found in Canada I'll be buying my motor from one of the local JDM Motor importers.
a 4g64 DOHC, with a 4g63 harness and ecu.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 7:50 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
OK I guess the harnesses are the same I never really thought about it. does anyone know if the 63 has different injector sizes than a 64 if so I might need an AFC to make things work...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 9:05 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2952
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
For cost savings I think I'm going stick with the 1.5L Tranny for the moment. I know this swap has not been undertaken especially while using an Auto Tranny but I want to ask the same old questions. On a 4g64 N/A would you think it would be needed for a larger fuel pump or just do the rewire and it should be fine? And would a 4g64 have the proper flywheel to interface with the 1.5L AT tranny? (I see you use 2.0 N/T flywheel to make it work on the 1.5 manual so assume the 4g64 probably has the same flywheel and would work on the 1.5 auto) That allows me to keep my current CV joints if I keep my tranny. Would I use a turbo or non turbo starter? And I see listed Injector resistor/ECU/MPI from same year Eclipse... Same year as the motor or same year as the harness? Remember this is only N/A no boost....
Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:02 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:17 am
Posts: 359
Location: Potsdam, Germany
Hey, I don't know if this will help you at all but I found it in my "neat tech" bookmarks & thought I'd post it here...

http://www.geocities.com/awd92gsx/dse4g64swap.html

Doesn't say anything about needing a different ECU.

- J

_________________
[ 1993 Lotus Elan SE ] [ 1989 Starion ESi-R ] [ 1987 Porsche 944s ]


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited