4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:56 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Shift linkage!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:34 pm
Posts: 126
Location: Queens, NY
I recently installed a 1st gen dsm gearbox into my colt. I am having a problem with 1st and 2nd gear, wont engage. Do I need to use shift linkage from a 1st gen dsm. Or do I have to weld it in a different spot on the gearbox. 3-4-5 work fine! HELP!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:59 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
nope dont need help just a little looking and common sense... ive fixed that problem for about 2 dollars from the local hardware store..and even got pics.... i just got a turnbuckle from the hardware store. i forget the size but you can take the adjustable long nut to the store with you and they can get the size for you... but one end had a i (circle) loop on one side and a hook on the other side..... its about 2 inches ong compared to the one inch long nut...see the problem is.... when you move left and right on the stick....the left linkage arm moves up and down.. problem: not moving far enough...so adding the other inch it moves right into gear perfect... pm me with a e-mail address ill send you pics.. once you see you will understand you can even print it out and take it to the hardware shop.with you andmake it a little easier.

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:34 pm
Posts: 126
Location: Queens, NY
Thanks soo much! Geo! Geoii29@aol.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:23 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
yo you gettin on aol now?
i can get on to give a little more info on it?

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:26 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:46 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Connecticut, usa
hey man me too please,,, i'll be putting a 1g dsm tranny in my car too soon.


prrikan@yahoo.com

or should i jsut change out the levers from my km210?

Ed-

_________________
Eddie Rosado


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:35 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
no definately not....too much hassle and trouble. This will take about 5 min. and be fixed forever.

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:05 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
sent pics guys pm me and let me know if you got them

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:34 pm
Posts: 126
Location: Queens, NY
Will do. Thanks much!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:39 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:46 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Connecticut, usa
thanks bro u da man.


Ed-

_________________
Eddie Rosado


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:54 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
you get them...see what i mean? any questions?...when its done the shifter sits perfect...

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 4:32 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Dallas Area
somone please notify the entire board and say whether this works and what kind of car it worked in, i just spent an hour drilling out the arms on my km210 and 63t tranny, if i had known that all i had to do was adjust the freakin cables id of been done a long time ago : please i beg you for the sake of all others do a write up on this

_________________
Corvette Beatin, Viper Eatin, SKEET-SKEET-SKEETIN...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:10 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
yeah ... i was stuck for about a day when i got here myself... so i searched the threads...came up with.a few options like drilling holes in your shift linkage arms at the tranny...and with all my piping being in the way and me being lazy went aback in and searched more...and came up with that you can change linkage from tranny to tranny..so i wnt and looked at my tranny it looked pretty hard to do... so i looked some more..founf out that there is a pin that was a bitch to get out and figured i wasnt going tht way either...more searching came up with that if your cables are adjustable you can adjust them al the wa out ...tried that too no luck..so i sat there looking at the adjustment side..noticed that when i moved the stick to the left the arm went up..and then it hit me...i only have 4 gears because i only has 4 gears to begin with..and it didnt move the arm far enough..so i took the long nut off and pushed in the clutch.. pushed the left linkage rod upwith myleft hand and moved the stick up with my right... let up on the clutch and guess what first gear... so i took a guess at it being 2 inches and took the next day finding a 2 inch long nut.. nope cant get one...1 inch was the longest... so i went back to work.. sent my girl to the hardware store she screws up and brings me this turnbucle..looked at it for a while...tried it.. loved it..... you will need to screw the mounted vehicle side in firstall the way and leave the locknut on.. to get the back done you willhave to remove the holding pin and remove it from the dowel to screw it in...leave on the locking nut and screw it in all the way...then place it back on the dowel and re clip it..i desrtoyed my clip taking it off so i used a body retainer frommy r/c truck.worked fine for me...took her out for a test drive... all the gears are there and where they are supposed to be...shit while your at it..you can do the same to your other side and shorten the throw of your shifter without loosing its height.ill probally be trying that this weekend

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:12 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
so geo and modena.. do you understand>? and did those pics go through?

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:14 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:26 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Chesapeake VA
and for you toolso.. i have a 89 colt 1.5 4speed and i swapped in a 90 4g63t with the eclipse tranny...works great i drive it everyday

_________________
http://www.clubgp.com/newforum/upfiles/ ... d93156.gif


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 11:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:34 pm
Posts: 126
Location: Queens, NY
Ok sounds pretty straight. Ill try it this weekend. Which shift linkage bracket are you using. The bracket on the gearbox. The one from a dsm,
1.6T, or 1.5?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited