4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:32 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Post subject: Hey guys.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:39 am 

Just wanna say this place has ton's of info.

I bought a local members car here in St louis MO and i was wonderind is there some place close by in st louis to get a bottomed and a head job done for the 4g63? i plan on being able to run 20lbs or more so i know im going to need studs and a comtec-head gasket but is there anything els motor wise i would need ..

Im new to this whole 4cyl deal but it is very fun no doubt ive not drove the v8 car since i got it .LOL

Rob

im hearing a rattle very faint around 2000 rpms sounds like a knock some times. so im sure the bottom end is going to go soon its only pushing 8lbs right now due to a sliping clutch.

Post subject: Re: Hey guys.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:44 am 
2nd Banana

Quote:
i plan on being able to run 20lbs or more so i know im going to need studs and a comtec-head gasket but is there anything els motor wise i would need ..
You can run a lot more boost than that on a stock head gasket and stock studs, as long as you have a safe enough tune. If you have no clue what you're doing you'll blow the head gasket long before you get to 20psi, but you'd have to be pretty stupid to do that. The 4G63 can take a ton of abuse in stock form, people have gone well beyond 500whp on a stock bottom-end running over 30 pounds of boost.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:43 pm 

Quote:
Quote:
i plan on being able to run 20lbs or more so i know im going to need studs and a comtec-head gasket but is there anything els motor wise i would need ..